I was inspired by the Fallout series and The 100, which I’ve been binge-watching for the last four days. I thought it was some teen survival soap, but it’s actually really good (also there’s some eye candies and lots of people die). On another note, I finished editing my book, but I guess deadlines really aren’t my forte since I’m still publishing this on a Sunday…

It began a long time ago, all of this, and yet only a few listened to the warnings. But most wouldn’t acknowledge that they were killing their own planet by exploiting it and poisoning it. Nobody cared at the time because it wasn’t affecting their well-being, their life. Far from sight, far from heart.

So here they were. Stuck in a building with fifty other persons. The outside would kill them with the amount of radiation now in the air. They couldn’t survive outside anymore. Sometimes there would be a breath when one would try to flee and died instead, and the decontamination room was a sight Shoshanna had seen only too many times.

One day, the Mayor requested the resident for a special assembly, and that didn’t occur well once she saw the serious look on her face.

“People of Rusden, this has been a really difficult time for everyone, but I’m afraid to announce what is yet to come. The last attack we suffered destroyed the air filtration system. As of tonight, there will be no more oxygen left, and this establishment won’t be survivable anymore.”

The mayor’s face crunched up for a second before she took controlled herself once more as gasps and whispers echoed around her.

“There’s really no words suitable to ease the news, and so I’ll enjoy my last day with my family. I hope you’ll do what you enjoy, for the last time.”

She saluted the people and turned to exit the room, but Shoshanna followed her.

“There must be something we can do!” Her tone was almost pleading.

“There isn’t. My counsellors and I sat for hours, tried to find anything to replenish the oxygen, but even if it wasn’t this problem, food would come to lack despite the strict rations. It was doomed to happen, Shoshanna.”

“So you’re giving up?”

The mayor sighed. “If you wish to look for a solution, suit yourself, but I’d rather be with the ones I love.”

With that, she took off. Shoshanna groaned in frustration. She refused to meet her fate without trying at least.

“Mom! What’s going on?” Her son ran to her when she returned to their room. She looked at him, so young and yet already used to live in such confinements.

No, she wouldn’t give up so easily.

Extra: Before beginning this story, I asked my friends what they would do if this was their last day on Earth. Their answers (in their own words):

  • Beat people and fuck shit up
  • Break the laws
  • Wear a strap-on in public
  • Go on another planet
  • Try to save the world (à la Saints Row)
  • Save yourself
  • Don’t stay with family
  • Write

The PAWW Project

2 thoughts on “10th PAWW’s story

Leave a comment