You don’t know how satisfying writing an avenging killer’s story is until you write one. Some shit happened this week, and I trailed my feet for a few days with negative feelings, trying to cope with them and unable to write.  I sat down today and tried to write this PAWW, it felt like scraping my brain with a fork until I said fuck it and wrote this bloody, messy vengeance story instead of my first, more “sophisticated” idea. This is inspired by The Crow movies, and it’s basically someone going around and killing people, with a noticeable amount of the word “blood” included. I believe that wishing bad events to someone will do nothing but turn on you, so damn did it feel good to write this instead, to finally let go of the shitty thoughts. Don’t read if you don’t like violence, is all I’ll mention.

The city was never silent, even during the night. Cars went by, parties crashed, arguments exploded. It was all too easy to climb the building without anyone noticing. Climbing holds weren’t the best, but I found my way to the 22nd floor with ease. I entered through an opened window, because who’d think about an intruder this high in the sky? Someone with nothing to lose, as I already lost everything.

The crow had given me a second chance, and would use it to give some people a lesson. What I had to do was clear as the stars in the sky that night. I would kill them all.

It was a miserable band of drug addicts, trying to make something out of the mess of their life by messing up others’, satisfying themselves with the misery they caused. Five persons whom nobody would miss.

Loud death metal muffled my steps when I walked down the foul-smelling corridor towards the first room. It once had been used as a bedroom, but it was nothing more than a vermin nest now, heavy-lidded eyes not even acknowledging me when I sneaked in. It was a merciful act of me, to plunge my claws in the rat’s heart until it popped like a balloon. I licked my claws as I watched him die like he’d watched me die. He laid on the soiled, bare mattress, ready to be plucked by the crows.

A scream pierced through the music, and I turned around. She was barely able to stand up, her body frail and twisted from abusing it with chemical substances. She meant to grab her gun but I was on her before she could, our bodies slamming together and falling on the floor in a mess of limbs. Something cracked when I punched her ribs. I bit her neck, chewed on it and spit out the bloody piece like rotted flesh. Her blood spurted in hot sprays in my face, blinding me for a moment.

She made wet choked sounds, her eyes on mine as life left them. I licked my lips and used a somewhat clean pang of her jacket to wipe some of the mess off my face and neck.

My heart was beating at the music’s fast pace, echoing in my chest and in my ears until it became white noise. My foot stepped in a blood pool gathering where the floor was caving in, some of it infiltrating my shoe on my way out.

The crow had given me powers along with a new life, I sensed the three other persons I would kill that night. How delicious that they were gathered in the same room, focused on smoking and cursing at the television. They didn’t hear me, not until I grabbed one of them and broke his neck.

I was surely a sight from Hell, covered in black and blood, face only lit up by the screen. I reveled in their fear. One of them had a knife, cutting through me before my claws made art with his insides for his companion to see. She fired in my shoulder while my hand was deep in his guts. I pulled until they snapped and threw them at her face. They hit their target with a wet splash.

She hurled curses at me and opened fire, but the pain was nothing. My suffering had rendered me emotionless but for the vengeance turning me into a monstrous killer. She backed away until she was pressed against one of the tall windows, her screams never faltering. It didn’t even as I kicked her hard enough for the glass to break, sending her into the night. Her bones snapped with a crunch when they hit the pavement, way, way down.

The wind softly stroked my damp skin, invisible loving hands caressing my face. My vengeance was complete.

The PAWW Project

One thought on “35th PAWW’s story

Leave a comment