I was watching Ghost Hunters the other day and it gave me inspiration to do this story. I’ll do a whole article on this subject on my personal blog and will put the link here once I publish it. 

It wasn’t even my idea in the first place, it was my friend’s. She wanted to visit an abandoned asylum supposedly haunted, for fun. It was my idea however to buy this ghost gear crap to become ghost hunter amateurs for one night. Another friend joined our expedition after he heard our plan which was to spend a whole night over there to try to catch anything on our tools and hopefully record any good footage on my cheap camera.

We planned on going the next Friday after my shift at my shitty student job. I’d brought the equipment, so I was ready when Tessia picked me up. Hamish was already with her.

“Hey guys,” I greeted them as I climbed in the back of the car.

“Yo. You’ve brought your stuff?” Tessia asked me, looking at me through the front mirror.

“Yeah. Did you?”

“Yup,” Hamish replied, popping the ‘p’. He gestured at the bag beside me, filled with junk food. We went to Tim Hortons to grab coffees before heading to where we’d spend the night.

“Okay, it looks creepy as fuck,” Tessia gasped as we drove through the front gate. I didn’t even know if it was legal to be here, let alone at night, but it wasn’t like we were about to blast the place with music, it was the opposite in fact.

We parked behind the building to be hidden from the road, just in case, and walked outside. The walls were vandalized, the air inside smelling of mold.

“There might not be ghosts in here, but I bet there’s vermin,” Hamish said, snickering. He was already munching on crackers. I stole him one before giving him the EMF detector with a flashlight and the EVP recorder to Tessia with another flashlight. I strapped my Go Pro to my shoulder after activating the Night Vision mode. I had a flashlight as well, but the darkness surrounding the light was frightening me already.

“You really have the best ideas, don’t you?” I muttered to Tessia.

“You accepted to come, so don’t put this on me,” she replied, nudging my side. We all turned on our devices before going further down the hall. The atmosphere was oppressing, stuffy around me for no apparent reason, and I turned around to look behind us when I felt air on the back of my neck. It was a closed building, and unless there was an opened window somewhere, there wasn’t supposed to be air moving towards me from behind.

There was nothing, but it didn’t ease the feeling that I was being watched, as if someone was walking behind me and almost breathing down my neck.

“Do you feel this?” I asked the others, and Tessia nodded.

“Feel what?” Hamish asked, eyes glued to the screen of his detector. He always had been a skeptic one, I actually wondered when he wanted to come here in the first place.

“It’s like someone is here, with us,” Tessia explained with the quietest voice I ever heard her use. She was scared.

“We aren’t even a minute in and I’m scared already,” I said, feeling goosebumps on my arms. Hamish chuckled.

“I don’t feel anything, so calm your tits. Let’s go in one of those rooms.”

I bit my lip, swirled my flashlight behind us once again, but followed them in one of the rooms, a patient’s bedroom it seemed like. The sight of the bed’s skeleton and a dark stain on the floor made cold sweat run down my back, my hands beginning to shake. I heard Tessia’s harsh inhale as well, and then she shrieked. Never in our friendship had she made that sound. She scrambled back in the hall, where she stopped and placed a hand on the wall to take deep breaths.

“What happened?” I asked her, following her. Hamish was still on his own in the room, saying something like his EMF detector going off.

“There was something, like a shadow darker than the rest, and it looked like a human, with a head and everything.”

“You sure?” I hadn’t seen anything, but I could still feel that odd presence around us.

“Fuck yeah I’m sure. I’m not turning crazy,” she said with a defensive tone, before groaning. “You know what, fuck this shit, I’m out.” She promptly walked back to the entrance, eager to get out. We hadn’t even been here for ten minutes.

Just as she was reaching the doors, we heard a loud bang coming from the depths of the building. I pointed the camera in the direction of the sound, but didn’t catch anything.

“Come on, let’s get out of here,” I told Hamish, returning to him.

“We came here for this.” He still was eyeing the EMF detector that was giving off high measure. A high level of Electromagnetic frequencies was often related to the presence of a ghost, but nothing had ever been proven so far. With what Tessia had just witnessed, however, I wasn’t about to begin a discussion with Hamish to know if the two were related.

“I won’t get myself killed by some evil spirit, and I won’t let you here on your own either. Come on.” I dragged him to the exit. “It was a stupid idea anyway.”

Later on, as I was checking on the footage Tessia and I gathered with the camera and the EVP recorder, I found something really disturbing. It was a sound none of us had heard during our stay there, fortunately.

Just after the loud bang we heard, the EVP recorder had caught a man’s voice, a bit distorted but the most was still understandable. It said “[…] Found you.”

The PAWW Project

One thought on “38th PAWW’s story

Leave a comment